I AM Sick of it! [RANT]

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I AM Sick of it! [RANT]

So I freelance as often as I can...
    One thing i keep coming across is the "Mock up" mentality when dealing with artists. The "draw, paint, layout, design it for me and if I like it, I'll hire you" mentality. I've had enough of it, some people are so accustomed to getting mock ups from new artists that they refuse any other proposals which contain none.
    There has to be a way to educate these people, these potential employers. Does anyone have any good links to some good resources for them to read and get educated?

On this last experience I had, I was pretty pissed until the client wrote this at the end of his rant:
    As a side note, i am a salesman by profession. I have found that nothing i ever did in the past got me a sale with someone i didn't know today.
    referring to portfolios.
    Then it was clear that ignorance was at play here.

My response:
    As a side note, you are a salesman by profession. We are professional artists, not sales men. WE are not trying to "sell" you a piece of our "old" art. We are offering our PROFESSIONAL SERVICES to you. A service which quality can be evidenced by reviewing our portfolios. That is the purpose of having a portfolio sir.
    links people, give'em to me

J.L. ALFARO

"Be who you are and say what you feel,because those that mind don't matter and those that matter don't mind."
    -Dr. Seuss

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,441 Times in 259 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    I'm sorry, I have no link, but here's a hug.

*hug*