Learning traditional painting

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Learning traditional painting

First post on the forum. I have been drawing as a hobby for several years, mostly anthropomorphic animals, and recently I've begun to explore painting. Since I am mostly self-taught my skills have lots of "holes" and there are many things I want to improve even in basic drawing, so I think I'll soon start a sketchbook too. But I'm especially after advice about painting with acrylycs and other traditional media as lately I'm becoming fond of sketching directly with paint rather than doing pencils before, and I'd like to get much more confident with it. I have big troubles improving lighting and palette choice, among other things.
    Here are the three largest paintings I did so far. In order they are acrylic on canvas 35x50, acrylic on canvas 40x60 and acrylic on board 35x50.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You're not bad. It looks too much like postcard art to me. Try experimenting with more daring color schemes. Read up on color theory. Try to get more depth in your work.

Boom.

:

:Whenever you touch me I go as limp as a noodle!

: Yes, I know the feeling.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    These are great for learning acryllic- they are complete, and the colros are nice in quite a few areas, the lighting especially shows alot of thought on your end.

my only real gripe is the backgrounds; You want the focus up front, so it is okay t use a larger, less defined brush for the background. Painting every individual tree causes competition with the real focal point, and makes a painting sub-conciously disorienting.