Mood Issues
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Mood Issues

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Mood Issues

I'm having some trouble here establishing the proper mood. I think my value contrasts are an issue, and I feel a bit like my figure doesn't properly blend into the background.

Any thoughts/helpful critiques?

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I know that I need to factor in more reflections of the blue glow, but to my eye, my color looks a bit chalky and I want it to be more vibrant. Any tips?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    BTW just as a caveat, I'm new to CA and this is my first attempt at a digital character painting, so go easy on me, but be honest...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm new to giving and recieving critique so, here goes:

Pluses:
    A) Beautiful style!
    B) The environment is rich, full, and well colored.
    C) The head of the character seems to be well defined and well rendered.
    Minuses:
    A) I'm not entirely sure, but it seems like the character is on a different perspective than the background.
    B) As far as the weapon goes, its at a strange angle versus the character itself. Just work on the perspective of the character.

Hopefully I wasn't an arse or anything, just trying to give some critique.
    As far as colors go, I would advise using more value on the color.

My Bloggins

Mat Kaminski's Sketchbook

Sketchbooks love Critiques, give a crit, get a crit! (tm)

|| SSG -- Riley Stark | Ian Barker | Damien Levs | triggerpigking ||

The CRIMSON DAGGERS

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Not at all, thanks for your insight. I think you make some good points that I hadn't really thought about...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey, welcome to CA! I'm new here too and kinda suck at giving critiques, but I'll give it a shot.