Thanks

Where do you bake your sculpey?

I've heard that it's dangerous to bake polymer compounds like Super Sculpey, Fimo, etc. in your normal oven due to the toxic released particles.

Can anyone confirm this problem?
    Last edited by Kinjiru; September 27th, 2007 at 05:55 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Heard the same thing. I have an old toaster oven that i use.

Thanks
    Those are really bad news...

Thanks
    Bake Super Sculpey at 130°C for 10-15 minutes per ¼" (6 mm) of thickness.
    use good ventilation and you are quite safe ; )

Thanks
    I bake mine at 275 Degrees F for 10-15, I've baked it on plastic and wood and I have had no problems. The only time I've ever noticed a strange smell is if i get up close and personal with the sculpture...

I think you're fine I've been using Sculpey for about 5 years now and never ran into any problem...

Thanks
    Thanked 16,685 Times in 5,021 Posts
    As long as you're not baking Sculpey at the same time as food, you should have nothing to worry about.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial

"Work is more fun than fun."
    -John Cale

"Art is supposed to punch you in the brain, and it's supposed to stay punched."
    -Marc Maron

Thanks
    I bake it at about 275 F in my regular oven, and for small parts, the toaster oven. Sometimes I do get the plastic odor if I let it bake for longer, but it in no way bothers me or affect me. Sitting in bumper-to-bumper traffic breathing in exhaust fumes is far more dangerous than the fumes from scupley (if you have adequate ventilation or large house)

Although... I have heard a story about a lady whose pet bird died after she baked some scupley in her home.

Thanks