Hello all. Newbie here!
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hello all. Newbie here!

Heya folks.,.I finally worked up the courage to post here. I'm fairly new to this site, (but I've been lurking here for awhile now), and I'm astounded by the quality of work here, as well as the helpfulness and professionalism you all conduct yourselves with. I've been searching for a site like this for a long while now, one where fellow artists can rip apart my work and tell me what I need to improve on. I've recently felt my limits as an artist, and have become somewhat frustrated and unsatisfied with the work I put out. I think that I'm all right, but I want to be GREAT, but I have no idea what I need to work on. Here are some of my more (a few months ago)recent works:

These were all taken via digital camera so excuse the shabby quality. One thing that I know I have trouble on is hands (argh!), so I'm still practicing, but if you have any critique, by all means, DON'T be gentle (I can take it)! I'd really like to hear what advice you all have to give me.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey Ether, first of all welcome to the community buddy. I am kinda new here too but I have been going to art school for a while now so I will do my best to help ya out. Alright dude, so here goes. First thing I will say is that you have a pretty good handle on value and making your solids feel like solids. You just need to watch it in some areas, make sure you are always checking your light source and watch what might be bouncing light back. Second, you may like it, and i agree there is some allure to it, but try to step away from the anime like style in face and body structure, it will get you in trouble as far as anatomy goes. 99.9% of anime is drawn wrong as far as anatomy goes, especially in the face. So pick up a few books if you dont already have them:

Force by: Mike Mattesi