Education in comic book art

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Education in comic book art

I am a 16 year old student at a european art high school. It has always been my dream to work at a respected comic company in the states. Next year I will be in the senior class of my school and I think Its time to make my dream come true.
    Now since I'm european Ive had trouble collecting information about how to go overseas and study comic book art. Ofcourse I wouldn't dare ask any of you to do the work for me, but if someone had a similar experiance as me I figured this is the place to find him (since it's such a big community of artists).
    I kinda figured I need a greencard or something and thats only the start of it. My budget isn't that big so I wouldn't be able to afford a school to expensive.

If anyone has any useful info I would greatly apriciate It.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,669 Times in 5,020 Posts
    The great thing about the comics industry is that there are no formal educational or degree requirements. The vast majority of people working have no formal training, or if they do it's a general art/illustration background, not comics specific. Also, because it's primarily a freelance business, there's no need to live in the same country as the publisher. So, your best and cheapest option is to get a good art education (formal or informal) in your home country.