Thanks

devil's advocate

I'm pretty new to this sight, and I'll bet this has been discussed before...BUT here goes anyway...
    As cool as zbrush and maya are, they aren't really sculptures.
    Are they?

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Well, as I see it, 3D is digital sculptures. Why do you ask, anyway?

Thanks
    Since they're 3D objects (even if it's just in the digital world), then artistically, they need to be critiqued as 3D objects. For instance "that line is clumsy" is less meaningful to a 3D artist than "the depth of the eyes seems a little too deep." You're using the same language as if it were a clay sculpture sitting right in front of you.

If you have trouble wrapping your brain around that, just imagine this - in today's world of 3D printers, most of these 3D pieces could easily be printed out and given "life" in the real world. So just act like they've already been printed, and you're looking at photos.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by L. Lanham View Post
    Are they?
    Well, in the same sense that a digital painting isn't really a painting. It's not a physical work of art - it doesn't exist in a physical sense, it's just data.

But, that's a relatively stupid distinction. Digital is just another medium - one with some distinct advantages and some disadvantages over traditional sculpting. Personally, I don't like digital sculpting as much as getting my hands dirty with physical media, but there are times when I would LOVE an undo button in real life.

It still takes knowledge of anatomy and the ability to wrap your head around the thing you're sculpting and visualize it in three dimensions. The computer does not create for you, it only facilitates creation, and talented digital sculptors deserve just as much respect as traditional media sculptors. Sure, there are ways to "cheat" on the computer, but there have been ways to "cheat" with physical medium for years (buying pre-made armatures, life casting, etc.).