Thread: work dilemma...

Thanks

work dilemma...

Hiya,

ive got a bit of an issue and could really do with getting some advice from the good people. this may not be the correct forum to do it on - if so i apologise in advance

a bit of background first:

i currently work as a 2D artist for a video games company mainly working on Nintendo DS games tho we're starting to get into more last gen consoles and live arcade.
    the majority of the work we do is on big franchises - so basically all im doing is taking art assets from the publisher and re-formatting them for the NDS.
    now i know this is a good job and the pay is good but its utilising neither my skills nor my creativity and (like loads of other people here i guess) im really looking for work as a concept artist...

im working on portfolio stuff all the time but feel i'd make more progress both in quantity and quality if i was drawing/painting full time - so basically im thinking ive got 2 options:

stay in my current role whilst all the time working on my portfolio and applying for suitable jobs - nice and safe, but im concerned that ill never achieve my aims by playing it slow and steady

quit my job and work full time on my portfolio, picking up illustration work here and there whilst applying for suitable jobs - scary to have no cash coming in and theres no guarantees that ill be able to find work eventually as a concept artist...tho it would definately be an exciting experience

or is there any 3rd way that im blind to? im sure there must be a few people out there who've had a similar decision to make so id love to hear any relevant success/distress stories. this would be a big ol' decision for me so any advice / opinions / common sense would be gratefully received...

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks