Art: Control issues.

View testimonialsView Artwork

Thread: Control issues.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy Control issues.

I'm looking for ways to practice and learn better control. I feel when I'm drawing even when I'm trying for something closer to 'observation real' it still comes across weak or lacking in detail or refining.

The hand is the example of what I'm thinking.
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=105291
    The lighting is alright, I know I need more blending practice (any ideas real fast?) but most of my concern is coming up with a creating clean shapes and crisp edges. Even with my hand I have a hard time doing that. Are there any drills that help with that? I know practice helps, but I've had control issues since my first class and has always been a critique I've received on countless occassions.

Anything for me?

Undergraduate Portfolio

I am a bomb disposal technician; if you see me running try to keep up. pld:
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The more confident you become with drawing/painting, this should improve. By the looks of that drawing you didn't block the colours in and instead went over and over certain areas. I used to do this a lot but since I've started drawing more regularly and getting out of my comfort zone I've got better at doing clearer drawings. There are probably some exercises to help you with this, but I can't remember any right now

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Now when you say block in colors what exactly do you mean? Do you mean it almost when you block in anatomical parts for a figure? So kinda building a color 'skeleton' to build up?

Undergraduate Portfolio

Thanks
    Thanked 3,056 Times in 945 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    its not helpless at all. Helpless would be if you would not see your own mistakes.