Sketchbook: Half-Life 2 mod concepts and nude figure studies - critique/tips appreciated.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Half-Life 2 mod concepts and nude figure studies - critique/tips appreciated.

I'll start off with a little introduction. Long time lurker - first time i'm showing my work. I'm currently 20 years old and going to a university. I'm a level designer and I'm leading a half-life 2 mod with a small team (I'd prefer if all members went to my university). It's hard to find local skilled artists interested in helping out and have the time to do so. I also have very specific ideas when it comes to the character designs for my mod, so I'm doing a lot of the concepts myself.

So while this isn't necessarily something I want to do professionally, it's a skill I'd like to improve and it'd definitely be helpful.

one thing that bothers me is that i can never seem to finish a design. i'll leave spaces "blank" and never know how to fill them in -- i'll try things and erase them and repeat until i give up, and usually still have a blank spot.

this is the most recent design i've done. the legs and chest area are largely still blank. same goes for the lower left arm.

this is another recent one. the proportions are intended to be exaggerated (i was aiming for proportions similar to characters in Alexander Senki or Aeon Flux for this character). it's obviously very unfinished. here's a quickly colored version.

this is an old design that i'm not going to be using for the mod, but it's another example of me not finishing the design (missing parts). this also demonstrates my first attempt at digital painting (and i'm probably not much better now ). i don't have a wacom tablet yet, so that's with a mouse.