Art: Beginner drawing
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Beginner drawing

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Beginner drawing

Hey guys,

One thing that really has me frustrated is my progression. I am very new to the arts and am not moving forward like I would like to be. I ordered a dvd on the human form and my drawing has gotten much better in that sense, but it wont do a thing for me as far as drawing animals and nature goes. What should I be doing to progress to be able to draw the images, in their variety, that come to mind?

I really appreciate any help.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Draw, draw and yeah. DRAW!!!
    you're not gonna get better just sitting on your arse and watching DVD's, you gotta try out the techniques.
    Over and over again.
    And the again. Till you're tired.

And when you're sick and tired of drawing, draw more.

Sketchbook. Treat Me Like A Moron
    I'm a dick, sometimes two. Hence my name.
    Edgar Allan Poe

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    it really doesnt matter what you draw, drawing an animal is NOT that different from drawing a person, what you need is a solid method of translating what you see onto paper...you need to learn to see so that you can draw whatever is presented in front of you.....check out ron lemen (fredflickstone)'s tutorials in the tutorials section of this site

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for the advice, guys!

Right now I am 19 and never really attended any drawing classes or anything (next year I will be for college). I hope that by the end of the year I'll have a solid foundation. Some have been drawing all of their lives and I'm afraid that I'll never catch up. My career is going to be in communication design and the ones that make it in that field can actually draw (unlike a lot that just get by with cheap stock photo tweaking).