Thanks

Exclamation WIP - Characterdesign Springnewt

Hello guys!

I'm new to this forum so I think I could just introduce myself quickly.
    I’m studying 3d Animations (officially called Communications Design over here) at the University of Applied Science and Arts Hannover in Germany. Currently I’m doing a course called ‘How to Create a Monster’ where we have to design a character with something like an inner conflict.
    At least since ‘The Muppets’ we all know that there are also kind of friendly ‘monsters’ so we’re not forced to produce tons of salivating orcs. Contrawise the aim is to make something more fancy.

In the end we should have a main drawing, some rough expression sketches, a clay sculpture and if possible a digital 3d model.

So first of all here’s my character description:
    WIP - Characterdesign Springnewt

Second here are some expression scetches:

And now this is where I’m really going to need your help: The sculpture. This is the first time I’m working with sculpey or doing something like that anyway. My idea was to sculpt only the muscles first (as if the character was skinned) and then take a brush and some white gas and smooth the hard edges out so it would hopefully look like skin over muscles. Do you think this is gonna work?
    Some fellow students gave me the advice to use white gas for that… but I have kind of a bad feeling about this because I cannot imagine that white gas and an oven work together that well…
    So this is the actual state of affairs:

I’d very much appreciate some critics for my first few steps. Thank you!
    Last edited by eduard; August 27th, 2007 at 07:02 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    The pictures wont get any larger. :/

Thanks
    Hmm, fixed it by now using imageshack and thumbnails. Don't know what that was...

Thanks
    At least somebody could tell me that it's bad

Thanks