Sketchbook: Meds' sketchbook/a beginner looking for advice and critiques

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Meds' sketchbook/a beginner looking for advice and critiques

I am a new artist and have been drawing for a little more than a year. I have not taken an art class since I was in the 8th grade, so I am trying to use all the resources that I possibly can to learn and that is why I am here. I have been on deviantart for about a year, but realized that I really need to learn the basics and could use some good critiques. So, here are my first sketches:

Here is a silent hill fanart and two colored versions.

All critiques are welcome. My personal goal is to try to do some type of daily sketch and at the moment I am focusing on anatomy.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Last edited by meds; March 27th, 2008 at 06:54 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    i like the first sketch, but i think when you added colour the face came out looking less peaceful than in the original. theres something about the nose i dont like, i think you need to add a bit of shading on the side so it doesnt look like her nose comes down flat on the side, and maybe work with the shape of the lips a bit more to make them look more natural.

good start though!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks! I got my first critique. This character is anything but peaceful, but I can definitely see your point when comparing the sketch with the colored version. I will see if I can add some more shading to the nose area. Lips have been a constant struggle for me even if I use a reference, so I may just need to break down and study them. Thanks again!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Here are some new sketches.