Thanks

Noob Question #1,005: Effects of Alcohol/Tupernoid on Sculpey

Okay...yet another noob question.

What happens after you brush your sculpey sculpture with alcohol, lighter fluid, tupernoid, or whatever? Will the sculpey revert to its original state after the fluid dries? Or will it be sticky and extremely soft? Can it be reworked after the fluid is brushed on? And how long before it dries enough to be reworked?

Also, what happens if you brush it on sculpey that's already been baked?

Thanks in advance...

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    GOOD questions! I've been wondering the same thing(s).

Thanks
    I'm prolly not the one to answer this question. but it's fine for me after a few hours. I wouldnt recommend reworking the clay. but I'm sure it can be done.

Thanks
    I use 93% alcohol - and usually waits half an hour/ an hour. Being a beginner I end up reworking areas that have already been smoothed with alcohol - and that seems to work fine.
    Areas smoothed with alcohol seems to be more firm - perhaps because the oil in the sculpey has been dissolved by the alcohol.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Aseyngel View Post
    Areas smoothed with alcohol seems to be more firm - perhaps because the oil in the sculpey has been dissolved by the alcohol.
    Okay, here's another: I've been working on a sculpt for a while now and it seems the sculpy is getting a little dry. Can I use some of the dilutant to sorta "reactivate" it? Anybody ever tried this?

Thanks

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by JimPV View Post
    Okay, here's another: I've been working on a sculpt for a while now and it seems the sculpy is getting a little dry. Can I use some of the dilutant to sorta "reactivate" it? Anybody ever tried this?