Art: Painter vs Photoshop

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Painter vs Photoshop

First, let me apologize if this is in the wrong forum, and also if this question is redundant. I've done a search, but perhaps my keywords just arent right because it doesnt seem to be getting me anywhere.

I am looking for some comparisons of Photoshop and Painter.

After having a Wacom on my wishlist for years and years, I've finally broken down and bought one.

I do have photoshopCS2.. but could get painter if it is superior. I've been using photoshop professionally for over 10 years, but never for traditional arts.

I'd really like to use a software that has a more natural feel to it... as well as a natural look to finished pieces. I've been boggling for years at your art here, and know you all use both.. but I'm unsure what is standard, and what needs plugins to achieve etc.... (brushstrokes, mediums, etc)

I know the answer to this question is probably a matter of personal preference, but I am hoping my details above might help with those of you who can identify with them.

Thanks for any advice!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Photoshop can and will do amazing things, but for what you're looking for I'de say painter is far superior

If I remember right, there's a free downloadable trial of painter on corel's website

Thanks
    Thanked 1,484 Times in 719 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    If it's more of a traditional media look you're after Artrage might be of interest, it's kinda "diet painter". There's a free version to play with and the full version is dirt cheap.

http://www.ambientdesign.com/artrage.html

Thanks
    Thanked 1,221 Times in 625 Posts
    Follows
    Following
Dude, photoshop for 10 years Professionally ... Why do you want to change ? I don't see the reason.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,122 Times in 871 Posts
    Follows
    Following