Advice in pitching the idea to parents

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Advice in pitching the idea to parents

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Advice in pitching the idea to parents

Heya guys, my name is Chris and I need some advice. Wall of Text ahead. Not sure if I'm posting on the wrong section.

I come and hail from a typical Asian family background, and I need to convince my parents to sponsor me (1/2 of the fees, the other 1/2 from my own savings) on a 3 year course on illustration.

I have been tolling for 6 years studying and working something I do not entirely enjoy. And I feel that I needed a fresh new start, and actually doing something I truly loved.

You might ask, why shouldn't I just work my current job until I have enough to pay for the other 1/2? I wish I could, but I would be starting older(i'm 26 now), and I am on a rather tight schedule to have relevant work experience before I hit 30. It sucks to have to depend on your parents, but I have no choice as time is against me.

Generally I tend to think the biggest hurdle is that people tend to equivalate art jobs to your usual professionals.

I had a discussion from my friend, he gave me several skeptical but valid questions that I'm fairly certain my parents would ask as well:

1. But its 3 years! For JUST a diploma?? Is it even worth that long a time?
    2. Why can't you study part time?
    3. Can't you study something that complements your previous qualifications? (I have a computer degree)
    4. By the time you finish this, you will be 29 and how would you compete with the other younger generations at your level?
    5. Are you sure you can find a job for this? You have have to be really good at this to hit big in the industry. (Its not really a 'noble/clear cut' profession for them)