Sketchbook: Learning How to Draw, Warpy's Journal (Image Heavy).

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Learning How to Draw, Warpy's Journal (Image Heavy).

g'day, i am warpy. a year plus ago i started learning how to draw in a local studio here. i am basically reposting everything i posted in my cgtalk thread, i feel that its time to get some more professional perspective and this site is the place.

i am gonna paste most of the posts on cgtalk one by one until today, hopefully this will help someone and from this point on i'll start posting anything new.

Lesson 1:

so here i am at the new studio, my first lesson was 4.5 hours..
    my teacher's name is george.. so from now on i'll just call he george, easy right ?

now you must remember that i have started drawing couple of years ago and before i went to the first lesson i was prepared to do the BASICS all over again! i cant stress this enough, if you dont know your basics then nothing is going to work properly for you in the future.

so i have about a month of doing basic drawings and to tell you the truth its pretty fun..

for the first hour and a half he talked to me about many things, tried to see where i am headed with this and if i am serious, a good teacher will want you to sit in his class and just waste your time while giving him money, he will want you to put hours and hours of work into your drawing skills. he will even give you homework.

so he tells me to draw this doggy doll in 10 minutes, i have never done a drawing under 30 minutes and i wasnt comfortable with this, but i still did it.. 10 minutes passed and now he tells me to doodle (he called this "gesture" i dont know the proper name for this.. but we can call this doodling.