choosing between US art schools, please assist

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

choosing between US art schools, please assist

I plan to apply to a US art school as an international student
    from Russia for Illustration BFA programme (not quite sure yet).
    I already have an Oil and Gas engineer's degree (that's bachelor's
    degree + one year of practical work), can I possibly apply for
    Master's programme in arts?
    I've been working as a freelance illustrator for the past 3 years, I've got plenty of various works (mostly illustrations and comic series) published in Russian magazines, newspapers and ads, though unfortunately I never went through any drawing courses or whatever. My website is http://www.bluebed.net
    or
    http://illustrators.ru/users/sleepy

What art school would you recommend? I've read the threads here, I'm probably sticking with Academy of Arts Unifersity in SF, though i'm not sure at all. The fine folks at Academy give scholarship grants for the summer semester only, which is quite sad, since their tuition fee is pretty high for international students. Another thing, I consider going to a community college for the first couple of years and then tranfer to save some money and give myself time to settle down. Is it worth it or will it just end up as a waste of time?
    Finally, I'd love to stay and work in the US, but to change visa I'll have to find myself a full-time job, not some freelance. That's also a thing to consider (actually it is of utmost importance in my case) both with art school choice and the field of study (illustration is mostly freelance, at least here in cold hostile Russia). What course is the best for finding a full-time job relatively easily after graduation?

Thanks in advance

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following