Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    How much RAM you guys use for PS and Painter!?

    Since the price droppaged in RAM, I'm intending on buying a couple of 1gb rams. Apparently after researching around, The OS I'm using which is Window XP PRO SP2 doesn't recognize 4gb rams.

    So right now I already have 1.5gb of Ram on my P4 dual core. I'm intending of getting another 1gb to make it 2.5gb.

    So i just would like to know how much GB of RAM you guys used to have nice smooth usages of your favourite graphic/raster softwares, particularly for PC?


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 128 Times in 74 Posts
    I've got 2gb of ram at the moment and Photoshop CS2 runs perfectly fine. Painter X can be a tiny bit slow on occasion but I don't use it much.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,060
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
    I only have 512MB at the mo, and Painter and PhotoShop run fine...until you try to work on a huge piece with a very high resolution or try to create a large brush preset (for example), then it starts lagging a lot.

    I'm investing in 2 1GB sticks real soon so I have 2.5GB in total...That should stop the lagging effect anyway. Sounds to me that at the mo you already have more than enough RAM to run both applications smoothly, but making it 2.5 would just be an added bonus!

    Cx

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia.
    Posts
    1,148
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 258 Times in 130 Posts
    I have 512MB, working on an oldish Compaq laptop, and the fans are constantly going full tilt if I'm working in any Adobe program or Painter. It's loud Lags much on medium-to-big res work too.

    I reckon anything above 1GB+ should suit fine...Working on the new Intel G5s at uni, I don't get any lag. Or maybe it's the Mac thing, I'm not sure. Either that, or their shinyness just makes everything work smoother, heh.
    Finn | my sketchbook thread | tumblr | Bēhance | gorillaartfare | whiskey, gin, and pints of beer

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks guys for replying.

    Yep 1.5gb is not bad so far, even have a 320gb for a primary scratch disk. But I had tested a custom brush in Painter and just changing its sizes lags like for 10 secs. Pretty weird.

    So hopefully another gig would do justice. I had wanted to get it up to 4gb until I researched that XP pro SP2 dont recognize 4gb RAM.

    However maybe I dunno how to hotrod my Painter brushes.. :0.

    However, Macs don't lag or do they?
    Last edited by FLenG; July 19th, 2007 at 06:40 AM. Reason: add some stuff

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 37
    Last Post: December 31st, 2010, 03:52 AM
  2. Hey guys.... little help? (Painter X)
    By justinB in forum Painter
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 15th, 2010, 12:57 PM
  3. Replies: 110
    Last Post: April 18th, 2006, 05:01 AM
  4. Art: Good Guys and Bad Guys
    By NHansen in forum Finished Art
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 22nd, 2004, 12:21 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 18th, 2004, 04:49 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Designed by The Coldest Water, we build the coldest best water bottles, ice packs and best pillows.