A beginner tryiing to get better please critique!!!!!
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

A beginner tryiing to get better please critique!!!!!

I trying to learn proper techique and form at the same time develop my own style I'm self taught and really want to get better please help

Attached Images Attached Images          
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi and welcome aboard CA!

I can give you two pieces of advice on these:

1) Please post smaller images so people don't have to scroll all around to look at them.

2) Your poses are all very symmetrical right now. Try giving the right and left sides of the characters a bit more variation in the placement of limbs, and let the hips and torsos lean in slightly opposite directions. These little variations in pose dynamics will go a long way toward giving your characters visual interest.

As the ego shrinks, so the spirit expands.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Can You Give Me An Example In Terms Of Variation

Do You Know Where Online I Can Get Some Tutorials On Perspective Design?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    By variation, I simply mean letting the poses be dynamic. If the left arm is raised, the right arm will rarely be raised to an identical height. It should be either significantly higher or lower, or perhaps rotated in or out more than the other one. Same thing goes for leg and foot placement. Organic characters almost never look good to contemporary audiences when they display rigid, symmetrical poses. Today it is all about dynamic action. Check out any of the 5-star sketchbook threads. You will see that the characters almost never look static. They seem to be moving and shifting in their poses.

As for perspective, try this: http://www.handprint.com/HP/WCL/tech10.html

Elwell is offline Sticks Like Grim Death Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks