Sketchbook: Shehaubs scribbles

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Shehaubs scribbles

I am a bit of a late bloomer. I started drawing for my kids when they were little and it just sort of developed into a personal interest. (My oldest is now 20). I have put off starting my own sketchbook because of my age, but I was so inspired by Lee's Sketchbook that I thought I would be brave enough to start my own.

The first is a cat I did in Pointillism from a photo. I just wanted to see if I could get the fur right with tons of dots. My micron pens were dried up, so I used a fine tip gel pen. Never again. The paper was smooth bristol.

I do okay with a photo, but my life sketches .. uggh. So my current goal is to get better at sketching from life.

The next two are just sketches of the family in the living room watching TV. The last are sketches from our camping trip. Kids move a lot, so it is a challenge to get something down before they change positions. I am trying to fight the urge to erase when they move.

I am not working with my own computer, currently, so let me know if these pictures need adjusted.

Attached Images Attached Images        
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi shehaub! No need to feel bad about your age here, you're not the only one My oldest is 13 and I only began my trek into becoming an artist a little while ago. I couldn't even draw stick figures when I started -- hahah!

Anyway I am glad you posted here!

I love the cat! And quick gestures like you are doing here from life are allowed to be a little slopppy, so dont get yourself on that -- you are just trying to get down the pose and feel of the figure.

So, let's see some more!! Post lots!