How helpful are life drawing classes?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

How helpful are life drawing classes?

I've been drawing for 16 years now but my art is still mediocre. When I draw from a reference picture it comes out superb but when I try from my memory, it comes out terrible. Even trying to draw Homer Simpson, who I've seen 10,000 times over 17 years, I still cant draw him accurately without a reference picture. Should I take life drawing class? Do you think it may help me improve? I think I need to relearn the basics of drawing. What is the class like, such as on the first day when you are doing life drawing for the first time? How much help does the instructor give?

Also what are some good classes in NYC?

Last edited by FlameDragon; July 10th, 2007 at 03:25 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'll make this quick. Yes, you definetly should. As an artist they are essential.
    It depends on the school, but my first day was just a "lets see what you can do" and we drew some plants and things around the room..... Nothing hard. Your instructors are there to help you so...yes they are helpful.

I'm becoming more of a renissance man every day.
    Yea i'm that awesome.
    The lord is my light and salvation-so why should I be afraid?-Psalm 27:1
    Jesus said,"Stop your doubting and believe!"-John 20:27
    God has said,"I will never, never fail you nor forsake you."-Hebrews 13:5

Thanks
    Follows
    Following