Sewer beast creature thingy stuff concept

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hi.
    This is a WIP of an amphibious, sewer-dwelling creature.
    Made in GIMP.

I'm pretty new to doing concept art so... yeah.

I'm trying to make this thing sort of alligator-ish, the environment is supposed to be an ancient, semi-flooded sewer. There's no water yet cause I just don't really have any idea how to do that.
    He still needs more teeth and scales but one thing I'm really stuck on is eyes.
    Right now he has none and I haven't been able to come up with any that don't just make him look silly. As a result, I'm toying with the idea of having no visible eyes.

Anyway, now for the pics.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,345 Times in 1,123 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    The creature is blue, right, but he should be affected by his surroundings - there should be some more warm earthy tones in there. His upper arm closest to us needs some more defenition.

Alligator-like? Looks nothing like one. Shorter limbs and a longer body would help. As for the head, you've made a big round head with two huge circular nostrils right on the front. It already looks silly

Elongate his head, make it flatter and more triangular, and remember not to plop the eyes ON the head. You need to 'carve out' ocular depressions and SOCKET the eyes in, and that means you can play around with the size and shape of the brows (making some frowny brows helps to make it look mean)

Hope that helped

Thanks
    Thanked 1,441 Times in 259 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Hey, this guy is pretty neat. He’s a humanoid down on all fours. You did a particularly good job around that arm/leg/tail area. The head is great fun for having those giant nostril-things and no eyes. I’m rather craving some different color in its mouth, though.