Question for Industrial Designers.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Question for Industrial Designers.

Firstly, sorry for cross-posting this topic (posted this on Sijun too), but I remembered that a number of ID people come here thesedays, and it looks like I might need to make a decision about attending an art college reasonably soon.

Just for some background info, I graduated with a degree in Computer Science (nerrrrrd) and have been working for the last year in an academic research department. I'm 22. It's kinda dawned on me that programming and usability eval... *yawn*... usability evaluation of communications interface research is not my thing.

I can, in theory, still do another undergraduate degree, but I'm not sure in which subject. I'll also be paying financially out of my own pocket for it this time.

I'd like to do Industrial Design, as, IMHO, it teaches you to draw and design better than doing an illustration or graphic design degree. As far as I know, most illustrators actually did Industrial Design (Sijun regulars like Craig Mullins, Feng Zhu, even artists like Roger Dean etc.) ... and not Illustration or Fine Art.

Though in reality, I think I'd like to go into teaching art at either secondary (High School) or lecture at a college and not, in fact, freelance work.

Also, there are NO Industrial Design courses in the UK except for the Royal Academy ( http://www.rca.ac.uk ) or Coventry ( http://www.csad.coventry.ac.uk/indde...ourses-ind.htm ). That kinda sucks... as I like Scotland...

I guess my questions to the ID guys is:

1) Do you think artists doing an art degree (e.g. Illustration, Fine Art) can learn the principles of Industrial Design merely from books, or is it something that must be taught?