View Full Version : Ca.org #2?
JustinBeckett
November 29th, 2005, 12:40 AM
Wth is this i just came across this online just now looking for one the main artists. What is it? Just a screw up page or is someone hosting CA.org on there site? Im confused. Thought it might be of interest here though, if it means anything. Forgive me if its nothing.
http://events.quiksilver.com/2004/fijipro_pt/ASPLiveEvents.aspx?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.conceptart .org&cacheType=RAW_CONTENT&cacheTime=1
JustinBeckett
November 29th, 2005, 12:43 AM
k wait now im really confused, i found others sorta similar to this too, hmmm...
Interceptor
November 29th, 2005, 12:48 AM
This sure does'nt look CA quality website design to me.
Monkeylizard
November 29th, 2005, 12:48 AM
This is the wierdest page I've ever seen... :S
now its google
http://events.quiksilver.com/2004/fijipro_pt/ASPLiveEvents.aspx?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&cacheType=RAW_CONTENT&cacheTime=1
and now its cnn
http://events.quiksilver.com/2004/fijipro_pt/ASPLiveEvents.aspx?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cnn.com&cacheType=RAW_CONTENT&cacheTime=1
ytmnd...
http://events.quiksilver.com/2004/fijipro_pt/ASPLiveEvents.aspx?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ytmnd.com&cacheType=RAW_CONTENT&cacheTime=1
:thinking:
YOU'RE THE MAN NOW DOG.
http://events.quiksilver.com/2004/fijipro_pt/ASPLiveEvents.aspx?url=http%3a%2f%2fyourethemannow dog.ytmnd.com&cacheType=RAW_CONTENT&cacheTime=1
JustinBeckett
November 29th, 2005, 12:57 AM
Monkeylizard, woah that is weird, wth is it? Do you know?
Monkeylizard
November 29th, 2005, 01:00 AM
Monkeylizard, woah that is weird, wth is it? Do you know?
OMFMGWTFZORS ITS EATING Teh INTARWEBSs
I guess all you have to do is change the url inside it's url
events.quiksilver.com/2004/fijipro_pt/ASPLiveEvents.aspx?url=http%3a%2f%2fyourethemannow dog.ytmnd.com&cacheType=RAW_CONTENT&cacheTime=1
and it'll display a cached version of the site...
Mike Frank
November 29th, 2005, 01:07 AM
Some people on here a couple months ago were talking about how they had to pay for international bandwith.. I'm guessing that the purpose of that site might be to host international material, nationally, to save people money.
waronmars
November 29th, 2005, 01:41 AM
it's got dirty dirty quicksilver ads all over it. they make overpriced slave labor 'surf' clothes. KEELL
_Mario
November 29th, 2005, 08:36 AM
Some people on here a couple months ago were talking about how they had to pay for international bandwith.. I'm guessing that the purpose of that site might be to host international material, nationally, to save people money.
International bandwidth? As far as I know there is nothing like that (payingmore for people who look at your site from some other country).
It looks like the site is just grabbing sites from somewhere and displaying them (like written by the poster above). That's why it probably looks like crap because most of the original sites don't work in a frame that is that small.
Just take a look here http://www.conceptart.org/ and you will see that the "main text" is the same. The links won'twork because the quiksilver site tries to get stuff locally and all the paths are a mix of quiksilver and CA .
So in short it's trying to get stuff that is on the CA server but tries to get it from the quiksilver adresse.
Mike Frank
November 29th, 2005, 02:26 PM
This is the thread I'm referring to http://www.conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=53525 . Read about 4 posts down and it gets into how it works in other countries. And I am thinking more for on the user side ( paying to browse international sites, not host to internationals ) But I'm just guessing and I could be wrong.
_Mario
November 29th, 2005, 03:04 PM
This is the thread I'm referring to http://www.conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=53525 . Read about 4 posts down and it gets into how it works in other countries. And I am thinking more for on the user side ( paying to browse international sites, not host to internationals ) But I'm just guessing and I could be wrong.
You are refering to the post by "K-17", aren't you? Well you are right. That's strange.
But you won't find this international/national problem that often. That are just evil provider who are abusing the system somehow. We never had something comparable here in germany IIRC (from friends). And these day more and more countries are moving to high bandwidth and flatrates so getting an extra "country mirror" of a site sounds like way to much work (because you would need one for every country and not just continet).
I didn't even know that something like this exists but it was here the same when friends were paying € 200.00+ for thier connection years ago and slowly it got cheaper and then suddenly the word "flatrate" appeared over here.
But still the idea of international/national flatrates is ridiculous these day. There is no shortage of bandwidth.
vBulletin® v3.8.2, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.