PDA

View Full Version : Anyone heard of Hireanillustrator.com?


Viridis
September 18th, 2009, 02:53 PM
So I got an e-mail today from a website called Hireanillustrator.com (Hai!). They said they've taken a look at my website and are impressed with my work, and would like me to join their service. The service costs about $7 a week, gives you a profile on the site, and they claim to contact publishers and network on your behalf.

This sounds like a pretty decent deal, and I could certainly use the exposure and potential clients, but as with anything on the internet, I'm a little wary. I've never heard of their site or their other website (Little Chimp Society) before, and while both sites look pretty clean and well set-up, I'd appreciate if I could get some outside advice on this.

Has anyone heard of this website or service before? Do you think it would be worth it to sign up? They offer two-week free trials if you don't want to sign up right away, but I know that canceling accounts can sometimes be much harder than signing up.

If it's a good website I'd be happy to check it out, but I thought I would ask to see if anyone has had experience with them beforehand to be safe. :)

EDIT: Doing a quick google search, it seems they've gotten favorable reviews from places like HOW magazine and a few others, which makes me much less worried. Still, if anyone has personal experience to share, that would be great.

dashinvaine
September 18th, 2009, 04:59 PM
I've never heard of them. Just looked them up quickly and they seem quite legitimate, with a lot of magazine graphic type images (good quality but not my cup of tea). However, I would have thought that a decent agent works to commission, as a rule taking a percentage of the work they find you. If someone wants money up-front offering no guarantees that you'll get anything back for your investment then it sounds like something to approach with caution.